Local sport and community celebrated at Teignbridge’s glittering awards ceremony

There was double celebration for England and Exeter Chiefs rugby star Sam Simmonds along with South Dartmoor Community College’s Amber Halliday and community organisation Volunteering in Health, at Teignbridge District Council’s Sports and Community Awards 2018 on Friday 7th December.

Marking the events 40th anniversary, the awards celebrate local sporting success and community projects across the district, recognising athletes, volunteers, sports teams, committee members, coaches, and community champions that go the extra mile to keep Teignbridge active all year round.

A whirlwind couple of years has seen Sam cement his place in the Exeter Chiefs first team and he was part of the 2017 Premiership winning team. A series of impressive performances led to Sam being called up to the England team and making his Six Nations debut earlier this year, scoring two tries for his country in a man of the match performance. Sam made it another double success as he was presented with the Senior Sports Person of the Year and Overall Sporting Champion awards.

Amber was recognised for being a role model to her peers and younger students at South Dartmoor College. Having started with the ‘Girls Active’ programme of work, Amber has progressed to being involved with work as an Ambassador for Active Devon’s ‘Devon Girls Can’ initiative. Her nomination speaks of Amber using her personal experiences to support and guide others into leading a healthy active lifestyle. Amber was recognised for her enthusiastic and positive attitude by winning the Young Persons Services to Sport and/or Community award along with the Overall Community Champion award.

Volunteering in Health support lonely and isolated people in Teignmouth and Dawlish. They have nearly 200 volunteers who drive people to medical appointments, visit or phone lonely people at home as befrienders, and help out at memory cafes and fundraising events. In the last year they have started a Trim Teign programme which anyone can join and the charity also works closely with Shaldon School, matching year six pupils with lonely elderly people to become pen pals.

South West Underwater Hockey’s U12 title winning achievements at regional and national level saw them crowned the People’s Champion at Teignbridge’s Sports and Community Awards 2018. The climax of an exciting night celebrating sporting and community achievements, the People’s Champion was decided by an online vote leading up to the awards and on the night. South West Underwater Hockey U12 won both the National Regions Championships plus defended their total as National Club U12 Champions.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognised the services, commitment and enthusiasm of Janice and Mike Hindle at Newton Abbot Athletics Club. Popular figures in the local community and helping young people for nearly 30 years, they attend every training session throughout the year and also find time to officiate at athletic events across the country. Their nominee spoke of a club commitment which is astonishing and an enthusiasm which rubs off on all the young people.

Teignbridge is proud of its long-term commitment to provide opportunities for healthy active lifestyles, outlined in the Council’s Ten Year Strategy. The wide range of leisure facilities, open spaces and events accessible to communities show that Teignbridge understands the importance of offering an array of inclusive and award-winning leisure, sports and open space facilities that benefit local people.

Kitsons Solicitors were the headline sponsor for the fifth year running and many other well-known and established businesses sponsored categories. Other key partners were the Mid-Devon Advertiser, Ripple Events, Pinnacle Photo Agency and radio and television presenter Ben Moseby.

A raffle on the night raised £320 for the Council’s Chairman’s Charity, which this year has been chosen by Cllr Avril Kerswell as the Dartmoor Pony Heritage Trust and Moorland Community Care Group.

Event organisers would like to thank everyone who was involved with making this year’s awards such a great success and a highlight on the Teignbridge calendar.

The winners and finalists were:

Overall Sporting Champion – sponsored by Kitsons Solicitors

Sam Simmonds

Individual Community Champion – sponsored by Kitsons Solicitors

Amber Halliday

Organisational Community Champion – sponsored by Kitsons Solicitors

Volunteering in Health

The People’s Champion – sponsored by Kitsons Solicitors

South West Underwater Hockey U12

Sport, Health and Community Champion – sponsored by Ashburn Springs Spa & Leisure

1st Rex Meredith – Castle Inn Rowers

2nd Dartmoor Classic volunteers – Dartmoor Classic

3rd Caroline Bailey – Independent walking group

Personal Achievement Award – sponsored by Stover School

1st Molly Mayhew – Team Lodge/Step2Starz

2nd Ian Lesley – Shaldon Bowling Club

Coach/Manager of the Year Award – sponsored by Bayside Signs & Display

1st Phil Shears – Newton Abbot Swimming Club

2nd Ryan Bougard – Bovey Tracey Lawn Tennis Club

3rd Sarah Lakey and James Gilbert – South West Underwater Hockey

Community School of the Year Award – sponsored by Stover Golf Club

1st Bearnes Primary School

2nd Decoy Primary School

Young Persons Services to Sport and Community – sponsored by Lamars Decorators

1st Amber Halliday – South Dartmoor Community College

2nd Libby Hill – Teignbridge Titans Netball Club

3rd Kelvin Hickerman – Newton Abbot Martial Arts

Junior Sports Person of the Year – sponsored by Teignbridge Leisure

1st Alfie Collier – Newton Abbot Somersaults

2nd Rachael Fee – Team Bath and England

3rd Roxanna Howlett – Team Lodge

Senior Sports Person of the Year – sponsored by Peplows Accountants

1st Sam Simmonds – Exeter Chiefs and England

2nd Bryony Frost – Professional jockey

3rd Tom Manley – Newton Abbot Water Polo and England U19

Junior Team of the Year Award (Sport or Community) – sponsored by Langstone Cliff Hotel

1st Dawlish United Ladies Football Club U18

2nd Newton Abbot Water Polo U17

3rd South West Underwater Hockey U12

Senior Team of the Year Award (Sport or Community) – sponsored by Devon FA

1st Ashmoor Hockey Club

2nd Decoy BMX Club

3rd Buckland Athletic Ladies Football Club

Business Contribution to Sport and/or Community – sponsored by Pavey Group

1st Sea Sports South West

2nd Muscle Mental Health

3rd Sherwoods

Charity Contribution to Sport and/or Community – sponsored by Waggle Events

1st Volunteering in Health

2nd Alice Cross Centre

3rd KingsCare

Lifetime Achievement Awards (Sport or Community) – sponsored by Cavanna Homes

1st Janice and Mike Hindle – Newton Abbot Athletics Club

2nd Pam Terrill – Kingsteignton Swimming Club

3rd Bill Moody – Newton Abbot Squash and Tennis Club

Cllr Phil Bullivant, Teignbridge District Council’s Executive Portfolio Holder for Recreation and Leisure said: “The reputation of our Sports and Community Awards is growing every year. In Teignbridge we have a wide range of success stories that make us a proud to live here. Sponsors and winners alike came together for an evening dedicated to those in our community who achieve personal success on the sports field and those who help deliver support to their local communities. The range of activities represented in the awards were impressive and thoroughly well deserved by all. On behalf of Teignbridge District Council I congratulate all of those who took part, I thank the organisers and sponsors who made the evening possible and I look forward to next year’s event.”

Nick Johnson, Joint Managing Partner at Kitsons, said: “It was an honour to be part of such a wonderful event as the headline sponsor for the fifth year running. Hearing such positive stories of sporting successes and achievements in our local community over the last twelve months was a privilege and delight.”